The third edition of the award kicks off: call open from 9 September to 18 November 2024

Architecture prizes are important because they make it possible to monitor the sector punctually, assess its state of health, orientate ourselves among trends and proposals, and bring to light interesting and innovative projects that would otherwise have little or no visibility. They provide a snapshot, often a reliable one, of the national or international design panorama, recounting several points of view, the result of which are projects that are the fruit of different cultures, countries and knowledge, with cross-fertilised visions and comparisons of languages that all participants are called upon to share.

Read also: Klimahouse, the possible futures of living

They also draw attention to key concepts linked to current events in order to provide answers to questions and solutions to problems. They stimulate discussion on the quality of the transformations taking place in the territory, in the landscape, in the urban context. In this panorama, the Wood Architecture Prize by Klimahouse (now in its third edition), the first on a national level for wood architecture, is part of the programme, with the intention of supporting the search for a design and construction process in line with international climate and sustainability issues.



An increasingly consolidated design vision

In the context of the ecological and energy transition, the combination of wood and architecture is important for an increasingly consolidated design vision, both in Italy and internationally. Thanks to its qualities, wood is an innovative material for modern construction and plays a crucial role in the enhancement of a sector that has a responsibility to meet the international standards of the circular economy. This is the starting point for the Wood Architecture Prize 2025 by Klimahouse (candidatures open from 9 September to 18 November 2024 with online registration here): set up by Fiera Bolzano as part of Klimahouse, the prize aims to valorise research and experimentation in design and promote knowledge of modern, environmentally aware building solutions.

A territorial supply chain logic

Promoted with the patronage and scientific contribution of the Politecnico di Torino and the Università Iuav Venezia, in collaboration with PEFC Italy, the award concerns works of architecture and engineering designed and realised in a territorial supply chain logic. The focus is on projects in which wood is used in combination with other sustainable materials. Eligible for the Wood Architecture Prize by Klimahouse are new buildings, redevelopments and/or extensions, elevations of existing buildings, temporary and experimental architecture, and works with different functional connotations (public or private, with spaces for individual or collective use) whose construction has been completed in Italy as of the year 2021.

Who the prize is aimed at

Wood Architecture Prize by Klimahouse 2025 is addressed to the protagonists, talents and innovators of the wood construction sector at national level: architects, engineers (civil, environmental and landscape), public and private clients, start-ups, Public Administration, companies and researchers virtuous in the use of cutting-edge technologies.

Finalists, winners and mentions

A maximum of 12 finalist projects will be selected from among the entries. These will be announced in December 2024 and will be subject to a subsequent selection process to identify the three winning projects. The jury of the Wood Architecture Prize by Klimahouse will be able to award up to four special mentions from among the finalist projects, including one special mention to an under-35 designer and one to projects made with wood from local, sustainably managed and certified forests.

The jury and the announcement of the winners

Seven were the members of the national jury of the Wood Architecture Prize 2025, chaired by architect Manuel Benedikter (Benedikter Architekt) and composed of professors Paolo Simeone and Guido Callegari from Turin Polytechnic, architects Mauro Frate (MFA architetti), Sandy Attia (MoDusArchitects), Marta Baretti (Arbau Studio), Luca Gibello (Il Giornale dell'Architettura).

Appointment at Klimahouse 2025

The winners will be announced at Klimahouse 2025 (from 29 January to 1 February 2025) and will be able to participate as speakers at the following events: Waiting for Wood Architecture Prize 2026 and ReBuild Expo Congress in Madrid (from 23 to 25 April 2025). The projects will also have visibility at other events organised or participated in by Fiera Bolzano.

Photos by Massimo Padoin