US architect Daniel Libeskind, known for internationally renowned works such as the Jewish Museum in Berlin and One World Trade Center, will be awarded with the renowned prize

Daniel Libeskind, will be awarded on Sunday February 19, 2023, the 14th International Peace Prize Dresden Preis at the Semper Opera House in Dresden.

The reason why Libeskind will receive the Dresden Preis can be attributed above all to a strand of his oeuvre devoted to memorial architecture memorial.

“As almost no other architect has been able to do, the artist has created an unforgettable architectural initiative to remember the victims of the Holocaust, war and terrorism in recent decades,” declared the jury.

His approach leaves no room for approximation and indifference. It is precisely through architecture itself that Libeskind gives life to projects that are unmistakable and unforgettable traces for the memory.

In addition to the Jewish Museum in Berlin, the 9/11 Memorial in New York(One World Trade Center), the Imperial War Museum in Manchester and the National Holocaust Names Memorial in Amsterdam, among his works there is also the Dresden Military History Museum, a symbol of the fight against war, as well as most important place in Dresden to commemorate the consequences of militarism and wars.

The Dresden Peace Award is presented by the "Friends of Dresden" in cooperation with the Semperoper.

Why Daniel Libeskind receives the Dresden Prize

"When everything seems over, a war, a genocide, a terrorist attack, the memory remains", says the jury of the Friends of Dresden association. And he continues: “And the way we remember could also determine whether it will happen again.

We need places of remembrance that also act as warnings. And they should be just like the ones designed by Daniel Libeskind: able to get noticed.

Roger Cox will also be awarded

During the International Peace Prize ceremony, the Dutch climate lawyer Roger Cox will also be awarded, who fights to fight the causes of climate change through the law. It was he who won one of the most important climate change disputes against the Shell Group, which is why the court in The Hague forced the oil multinational to reduce its CO2 emissions by 45% by 2030.

Gerhart Baum receives Honorary Award

Finally, an honorary prize will also be awarded to Gerhart Baum. The now 90-year-old politician has dedicated his entire life to human rights and peace, as decided by the jury.

International Peace Prize Dresden Prize, program

Alongside the moments of celebration and the official speeches of the jury and the awardees, there will also be an unprecedented performance: the electro-pop duo ÄTNA from Dresden and the cellist Jan Vogler they will play together for the first time. The Dresden Stahlquartett will also perform.

International Peace Prize: useful information

Dates, places, tickets

  • The awards gala will take place on February 19 at 11 am at the Semper Opera House.
  • Tickets for the event are available from 5 euros at the Schinkelwache on Theaterplatz

or by phone +49 (0)351 4911 705) and online at:

  • Also at:,de