The architect Zaha Hadid is the first woman to win the Royal Gold Medal for Architecture. The prize instituted by the Royal Institute of British Architects in 1848 honors excellence in the field of international architecture.

During its 167 years of history, the prize has gone to architects like Le Corbusier (1953), Alvaro Siza (2009), Herman Hertzberger (2012), Peter Zumthor (2013), Joseph Rykwert (2014) and O’Donnell+Toumey (2015), among many others.

The most important works of Zaha Hadid, already the first woman to receive the Pritzker Prize, include The Peak Hong Kong (1983), Kurfürstendamm in Berlin (1986), Cardiff Bay Opera House in Wales (1994), the Vitra Fire Station at Weil am Rhein. Recent works include the London Aquatics Centre (2011), Riverside Museum in Glasgow (2011), Guangzhou Opera House (2010), Sheikh Zayed Bridge in Abu Dhabi (2010), MAXXI Museum in Rome (2009), Burnham Pavilion in Chicago (2009), Nordpark Railway Stations in Innsbruck (2008).


gallery gallery
Aerial view of the Olympic Park showing the Aquatics Centre and the Water Polo Arena. Picture taken on 16 April 2012.